First British Short Film Awards honor Peter Capaldi and Elliot Grove


Doctor Who star Peter Capaldi and Raindance founder Elliot Grove were honored at the very first British Short Film Awards.

Capaldi received the Icon Award while Grove received the Impact Award

The British Short Film Awards, in partnership with the HearArt Project, were hosted by presenter Alex Zane on Friday night. The event was broadcast on YouTube due to restrictions related to the pandemic.

The jury, which deliberated in 35 categories, was made up of Aimee Lou Wood (“Sex Education”), Samuel Adewumni (“The Last Tree”), Tom Rhys Harries (“White Lines”) and Elizabeth Lail (“You”) ) as well as Oscar-winning patron Rachel Shenton (“The Silent Child”).

Awards founder and short film director Tommy Clark said in a statement, “Short films have been an incredible launching pad for some of the greatest actors and filmmakers in the industry today, but there is no stand-alone awards ceremony in their honor. The British Short Film Awards aim to recognize, inspire and nurture these future stars and the incredible short films that create them!

Check out the full list of winners below:


Icon price: Pierre Capaldi
Impact Prize: Elliot Grove
Author Award: “Dicetrix”
Founders Award: “Divine David”
Jury Prize: “Iniquity”
Public Prize: “Build a problem” (Dodie)


Best short film: “Starboy” (Tibo Travers, Directed by Joëlle Bentolila)
Best British Short Film: “Enjoy” (Gabriele Lo Giudice, Nick Rowell, directed by Saul Abraham)
Best Animated Short: “Love is only death” (Jakub Kostal, directed by Bára Anna Stejskalová)
Best Documentary Short: “Looking Back With Pride” (Scarlett Barclay, Sasha Nixon, directed by Emily McDonald)
Best Director: Flora Tennant (“We all wanna be crazy)”
Best actor: David Bradley (“Roy”)
Best Actress: Isabelle Connolly (“Pale Saint”)
Best Screenplay (Short): “Reg” (Tom Allpress)
Best score: “Fantasy of the company between the human and the inanimate” (Manu Martin, Ron J Danziger, Joi Barua)
Best Editing: “First Away” (Nathan Baker)
Best photography: “Pale Saint” (Lasse Ulvedal Tolboll)
Best British Director: Bertie Gilbert (“Please be careful”)
Best short film in a foreign language: “A Swedish Defense” (Jimm Garbis, directed by Simon Elväs)


Best English Short Film: “Home” (produced by Fozia Khaliq, directed by Ndrika Anyika)
Best Northern Irish Short Film: “Back in Five” (produced by Michael O’Neill, Jude Sharvin, written and directed by Stephen Pierce)
Best Scottish Short Film: “Monster” (produced by Rebecca Deane, directed by Reiff Gaskell)
Best Welsh Short Film: “Pale Saint” (produced by Alexander Polunin and Rhys Marc Jones, directed by Rhys Marc Jones).
Best feature short film (20-40 min): “Tequilla Dream” (produced by Joe Andrews, written and directed by Peter Lavery).
Best super short film (less than 5 min): “Pub Kid” (produced by Mollie Bromfield, written and directed by Liam Young).
Best Supporting Actor: Tom Sweet (“Enjoy”).
Best Supporting Actress: Sharon Rooney (“Do No Harm”).
Best production design: “Baile” (Faye Connor and Charlie Cooper).
Best Comedy Short Film: “Viskar I Vinden” (produced by James Newman, Harry Newman, written and directed by James Newman).
Best Horror Short: “A Sickness” (produced by Jennifer Gelin, written and directed by Guy Soulsby).
Best Science Fiction Short: “CogniKon” (produced and directed by Ravi Ajit Chopra)
Best Dramatic Short Film: “Another Day” (produced by Gráinne Good, Alan Hall, directed by Daniel Topic).
Best Video Clip: Jorja Smith – “Home” (produced by Olufemi Anderson, directed by Rob Akin).
Best student short film: “A Swedish Defense” (produced by Jimm Garbis, directed by Simon Elvås).
Best hair and makeup: “Starboy” (Elizabeth Hedley).
Best visual effects: “CogniKon” (Peerless, Territory Studios, Foundry, Chocolate Triber).
Best Costume Design: “We all want to be crazy” (Zara de Freitas, Freddie Anderson and William Howell-Jackson).
Best set of actors: Mirren Mack & Naomi Preston-Low & Dominic Gilday (“Mudlarks”)
Best sound design: “Louder is not always clearer” (sound design by Andrew Gough).
Best short film in the archives (finished before 2019): “The Silent Child” (produced by Rachel Shenton, Chris Overton, Rebecca Harris, Julie Foy, directed by Chris Overton)
Best Commercial Short Film: “Topjaw – 48 hours in London” (produced by Jesse Burgess, directed by Will Warr).


Comments are closed.